Review of Brasserie Blanc, Chichester

At 20:30 on a Monday evening this joint was almost packed, so that we could hardly hear the waitress or each other until we had tuned in to the noise level.  The style of the restaurant is traditional but unfussy, the menu very much the sort of brasserie fare one would expect, if somewhat pricey for Chichester.  My husband had an interesting view of the open kitchen while I looked out over the newly-developed courtyard (The Square, off Eastgate Square) and St. Pancras church outside.

We both ordered steak (sirloin for me, rump for him) which arrived promptly and was cooked just as requested.  I found the sirloin tender and full of flavour, and the accompanying frites crisp and tasty.  Apparently the rump steak was very good too.  Unfortunately my side order of creamed leeks turned out to be a bowl of cream with very few slices of leek, therefore difficult to eat without making a mess (the steak being served on a platter rather than a plate) and nowhere near enough to count as one of my five a day!  My husband’s swede and carrot mixture was a great deal better – a very good combination of flavours, he said.

We very much enjoyed our bottle of Raymond Blanc’s favourite, Little B Medoc – and at £27.20 so we should! – but it would have helped if the otherwise very engaging and helpful waitress could have fetched someone who did know the relative merits of that and another wine rather than just saying she didn’t know!  It was a nice touch to have a band slipped over the bottle to show we wanted to pour it ourselves, rather than go through that irritating performance of having our almost untouched glasses constantly topped up.  We were willingly given a large jug of iced tap water rather than being sold bottled water.

We were pleased to be left alone to finish our wine before ordering dessert.  For me, once I see the words “dark chocolate” I look no further and my husband also chose the “leafed dark chocolate”.  This was very good, with an agreeable slight crunch to the topping, but could perhaps have been even more intensely chocolatey.

All in all, a good experience in a restaurant that is already proving extremely popular in Chichester.  Visit their website.

About Diana in Chichester

Social media marketer working with small businesses, especially in the food, events, and green sectors.
This entry was posted in Local food news and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review of Brasserie Blanc, Chichester

  1. loz8188 says:

    Loved reading your review! I am addicted to the Brasserie myself, I think their Wine and Dine menu is an absolute bargain for the high standard of food and have always found the staff completely knowledgeable, perhaps you caught one on a bad day? I’ll hopefully be posting my review tomorrow, would love to know what you think : ) x

  2. loz8188 says:

    Haha! Yeah I have been lucky enough to meet Mr Blanc a couple of times : ) Glad you liked my review. Hopefully heading to the Brasserie for my third time tonight : )

  3. I have not been yet but very keen to now that I have read the reviews. It’s always good to know that a place can serve decent steak. That’s a deal clincher as far as I am concerned.

  4. Glad to hear that Brasserie Blanc hits the mark outside of London too – thanks for sending me this Diana, a great and heartening read. Becky

Leave a Reply

